The process of closing projects is an important step in maintaining your FunctionFox account. Keeping your projects up to date helps team members stay informed, improves data accuracy, and helps streamine project management practices.
Closing projects is also a necessary step in archiving, as discussed below.
To close a Project:
FOX TIP: There are a number of different areas where you can quickly update the status of a project, such as from the Project Info Modal discussed in Review Project Details.
By default your FunctionFox account will be set up with the status options: Open and Closed.
To customize your statuses:
You can also edit an existing status by clicking on the pencil icon create next to the status. Make your desired changes and Save Edit.
Once a project has been moved to a "Closed" status, you can archive it. Archiving is a way to put a Project into "storage" so that you will no longer see it listed with your open and closed Projects. All data is saved for reporting purposes, and you can alway de-archive Projects as needed.
Archiving a Projects is recommended when it is complete and no longer needed for time tracking or scheduling. Archiving ensures that you are only viewing you active and current Projects so they remian your top priority.
To archive a project:
Note: Archiving projects will not cause you to lose any information for a project. Archived projects can still be visible for some reports and other features by enabling the "view archived" check box beside the project menu.
FOX TIP: Have a lot of projects that need to be archived? Click on the check box in the table header to archive multiple projects at the same time.
If you need to re-activate a project to update information, you can do so by:
Note: The de-archive table is fitlered by default to only show projects archived in the last 90 days. Use the search/filter fields at the top of the page to find the project you wish to de-archive.
When you have a user who no longer requires access to the account, we recommend that you archive them.
By archiving personnel you will retain all of their historical information, as well as remove their ability to login to the account. As with projects you can de-archive a user if you wish to re-activate their login.
How to archive personnel:
You can follow similar steps to de-archive personnel by clicking the link for De-Archive Personnel under Tips/Links.
FOX TIP: Require your billable personnel updated on your account after archiving a user? Email Customer Billing to have your monthly bill updated.
Have a client you are no longer working with? You have the ability to also archive clients within your account. Clients can only be archived when all their subsequent projects have been closed.
To archive a client:
Now that you have learned to keep your account clean and tidy, lets take a look at customizing user Access Levels.